More Than This by Jay McLean

18285151

((3.5 STARS))

After finishing this book, I was left with conflicting feelings. The beginning started out with such a devastatingly tragic sequence of events that my expectations soared straight to the top. It was intense and heart shattering and beautiful all at the same time. I was really excited to find out how the story unfolded.

I really wanted to love this book, and don’t get me wrong, overall I did like it. Unfortunately I just found that once I reached the middle of the story I was getting more and more frustrated with the main characters. Mikayla and Jake had such strong feelings for each other but spent the whole time in “limbo” with one another. They lived together, fooled around together, kept saying things like “I so much more than a lot like you” but neither one would talk about their relationship. The whole book began focusing on guessing the other’s feelings that the things which made the story so interesting to begin with soon faded.

I gave this book 3.5 stars because even though I do have my grudges against it, I found that overall the book was fun to read. The last chapter was a bit of a surprise and I really did enjoy the twist that the author threw in at the end. If you’re looking for something light and fun to read, More Than This may be the perfect choice!

*Mikayla*
In one night my fairytale ended. Or it may have begun. This is my story of friendship and love, heartbreak and desire, and the strength to show weakness.

*Jake*
One night I met a girl. A sad and broken girl, but one more beautiful than any other. She laughed through her sadness, while I loved through her heartbreak.

*This is our story of a maybe ever after.*

He was right. It made no difference whether it was 6 months or 6 years. 
I couldn’t undo what had been done. I couldn’t change the future.
I couldn’t even predict it. 
It was one night.
One night when everything changed.
It was so much more than just the betrayal.
It was the Tragedy. 
The Deaths. 
The Murders.
But it was also that feeling.
The feeling of falling.

Leave a Reply

