Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

8490112

((5 STARS))

Its been awhile since I’ve read such a beautifully tragic story. Daughter of Smoke & Bone took me completely and utterly by surprise. It’s hauntingly beautiful in the way it was written.

For the first few chapters I felt a little overwhelmed with the amount of characters and information being introduced. The story is much more complex than I had anticipated (but in a good way), which is probably why it took a couple chapters for me to fully grasp the entirety of it all. Once I did though I couldn’t put the book down. The love between Karou and Akiva is so gut-wrenchingly sweet that I couldn’t help but to get lost in their story.

The world that Laini created of angels and mystical beings is so unique and innovative. Everything about this novel strays from the beaten path of your typical YA paranormal romance (not that I don’t love them too!). I know this review has probably just turned into a big gush-fest and that I’ve overused the word beautiful one too many times but there’s really no other way for me to express how much I adored this book.

If you’re in the process of finding some new material to dig into and get lost in, then I highly recommend Daughter of Smoke & Bone!!

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

3 thoughts on “Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorite: Daughter of Smoke and Bone | Forever Y.A.

Leave a Reply

