Angelfall by Susan Ee

11500217

((4.5 STARS))

I had high hopes prior to reading this novel due to all the positive reviews from the goodreads community. I can now see why so many people have been gushing about it.

From start to finish, this book had me riveted. Unlike the many other angel series I’ve attempted to read, Angelfall created a whole new dimension of originality. From page one the story sucks you in and doesn’t let go until you’re turning that last page. Everything from the story line to the characters was a breath of fresh air. I thoroughly enjoyed the uniqueness this book presented in each and every chapter.

I fell in love with the main characters and instantly adored Penryn and her determination to keep her broken family together. I admired her selflessness and the love she had for her younger sister. I loved the mystery behind Raffe’s past and the building of his and Penryn’s growing relationship. The characters didn’t instantly fall in love with each other and there were hardly any romantic scenes between the two (which I must admit I was a tiny bit disappointed about), but it was a nice change of pace from the many novels I’ve been reading that have that insta-love connection.

I really can’t express enough how much I enjoyed reading this book. The fact that Susan is a self-published author makes me want to stand up and applaud the way she steamrolled the many other angel series that have already been released.  All the hype surrounding this book, in my opinion, is completely and totally justified!

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

One thought on “Angelfall by Susan Ee

  1. Pingback: Angelfall – Susan Ee | Stewartry

Leave a Reply

